Author

 

Cindy-Lou has authored three books: 'Secrets of a Professional Travel Writer' and two coffee table books that speak of on-assignment experiences. All are available via Amazon.

 

She's currently writing a novel,Knock-knock, Who's There?  which is set at the height of South Africa’s violent apartheid era, it tells the story of a young girl who, despite her fanatical religious upbringing and her shadow of rape-shame, evades the future planned for her – thanks to a teacher and a kitchen maid. The novel portrays much violence, strong political and religious scenes, self-harm, personal conflicts and abuse. Yet there’s no bitterness, despite it all. Ultimately this leaves the reader with a positive, optimistic and life-affirming message. The ‘success against all odds’ magic about the book would appeal to readers who enjoyed Alexander McCall Smith’s No. 1 Ladies Detective Agency series, Wilbur Smith’s Courtney collection and Alexandra Fuller’s memoir Don’t Let’s Go To The Dogs Tonight

"People imply that writing fiction is an escape from reality. It’s not! It’s a plunge into reality - on which it's always based - and it’s a shock to the system. It's a terrible experience during which time my hair has fallen out and my teeth have decayed. It’s taken me fifty-two years to formulate 'Knock-knock, who's there?', my soon-to-be first novel, of which nine months have been spent typing; the rest of the time was taken up being lousy at people’s skills, a switchboard operator, a model, drag racing, a filing clerk - then when I grew up, travelling and working around the world." 

  • Facebook Social Icon
  • Twitter Social Icon
  • Instagram Social Icon

© 2022 Cindy-Lou Dale