Author

 

Knock-knock, who's there? is set at the height of South Africa’s violent apartheid era, it tells the story of a young girl who, despite her fanatical religious upbringing and her shadow of rape-shame, evades the future planned for her – thanks to a teacher and a kitchen maid. The novel portrays much violence, strong political and religious scenes as well as personal conflicts and abuse, yet there’s a lack of bitterness, despite it all. Ultimately this leaves the reader with a positive, optimistic and life-affirming message. The ‘success against all odds’ magic about the book would appeal to readers who enjoyed Alexander McCall Smith’s No. 1 Ladies Detective Agency series, Wilbur Smith’s Courtney collection and Alexandra Fuller’s memoir Don’t Let’s Go To The Dogs Tonight

Cindy-Lou has also authored three additional books: 'Secrets of a Professional Travel Writer' and two coffee table books that speak of on-assignment experiences. All are available via Amazon.

"People imply that writing fiction is an escape from reality. It’s not! It’s a plunge into reality - on which it's always based - and it’s a shock to the system. It's a terrible experience during which time my hair has fallen out and my teeth have decayed. It’s taken me fifty-two years to formulate 'Knock-knock, who's there?', my soon-to-be first novel, of which nine months have been spent typing; the rest of the time was taken up being lousy at people’s skills, a switchboard operator, a model, drag racing, a filing clerk - then when I grew up, travelling and working around the world." 

  • Facebook Social Icon
  • Twitter Social Icon
  • Instagram Social Icon

© 2019 Cindy-Lou Dale